The R&A - Working for Golf

Ladies' British Open Amateur Championship

The Ladies' British Open Amateur Championship was founded in 1893 by the Ladies Golf Union and was first played at Royal Lytham and St Annes.

Lady Margaret Scott was its first ever Champion.

Championship Overview

2016 Ladies' British Open Amateur Champion

Julia Engstrom (Swe)

L2016 Ladies British Open Amateur Championship Winner Julia Engstorm

Julia Engstrom defeated Dewi Weber on the first extra hole to win the 113th Ladies’ British Open Amateur Championship at Dundonald Links and become the youngest ever champion at the age of only 15 years. The Swede surpassed the record held by Lauren Taylor, who was 16-years-old when she won the Championship at Royal Portrush in 2011.






Pyle & Kenfig
13-17 June 2017

The 114th Ladies British Open Amateur Championship will take place at Pyle & Kenfig from 13-17 June 2017.

Pyle & Kenfig has a rich history of hosting both men’s and women’s amateur championships and international matches.

The course has co-hosted The Amateur Championship three times and was the venue for the Men’s Home Internationals played in 2006.

The Irish team included Rory McIlroy, who won The Open at Hoylake on 2014 to become Champion Golfer of the Year.

In 2009, it hosted the Senior Ladies British Open Amateur Championship and a year later, staged the Welsh Boys Championship.

Affectionally known as ‘P&K’, the course is situated on a wonderful stretch of golfing country on the South Wales coast, thus undulating course with its natural hazard of hillocks, valleys and towering dunes is considered one of Great Britain’s finest links courses.

Contact details:

Pyle & Kenfig Golf Club
CF33 4PU
Tel: 01656 783093






The first stage of the Championship involves 144 players each of whom plays two rounds of 18 holes. The 64 lowest scores over the 36 holes will compete in the match play stage of the Championship. Each match will consist of one round of 18 holes, including the Final.

The ‘Pam Barton Memorial Salver’ is awarded to the winner of the Championship, while the runner-up receives The Diana Fishwick Cup. An international team award is presented after the stroke play qualifying rounds.






History of the Ladies British Open Amateur

Founded in 1893 by the Ladies’ Golf Union, the Ladies British Open Amateur was first played at Royal Lytham & St Annes Golf Club in Lancashire.

The first three championships were won by England’s Lady Margaret Scott, who defeated the founder and secretary of the Ladies’ Golf Union Issette Pearson in the final of her first two victories.

Before the rise of the women’s professional game, the Ladies British Open Amateur was one of the most important golf events for female competitors. Today, along with the US Women’s Amateur Golf Championship, it is considered the highest honour in women’s amateur golf.

Championship News