The R&A - Working for Golf

The Ladies' Homes Internationals

The Ladies' Home Internationals was first played in 1885.

The championship is an annual event played over three days featuring teams from England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales.

Match Overview

2016 Ladies' Home International Matches Winner


2016 Ladies Home International Matches Winner England

England won the Ladies’s Home Internationals for the third time in a row, their fifth victory in the last six years, after defeating hosts Wales 7-2 in the final at Conwy. After drawing with Ireland and beating Scotland, the English team ended Welsh hopes by winning the foursomes 3-0 and the singles 4-2 to complete a comprehensive 7-2 victory.

2017 Match


2017 Match



Little Aston
9-11 August 2017

The Ladies Home Internationals will be played at Little Aston from 9-11 August 2017.

Little Aston was founded in 1908 when Harry Vardon was asked to design the course, and remains largely unchanged from its original appearance. It hosted its first championship in 1927 when the English Amateur Championship was won by Philip Perkins following a 2&1 victory over JB Beddard.

Between 1947 and 1969, it staged the Dunlop Masters on five occasions, and on three occaisions between 1970 and 1994, it was the venue for the Men's Open Amateur Stroke Play Championship (Brabazon Trophy).

In 1951 Little Aston co-hosted the Dunlop Tournament with Sutton Coldfield with Charlie Ward of South Africa winning the event, and in 1962 it hosted the Schweppes PGA Close Championship when Peter Allis won the championship.

Contact details:

Little Aston Golf Club
Roman Road
Lytham St Annes
Sutton Coldfield
B74 3AN
Tel: 01213 532942



2017 Match



Teams from England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales compete against each other in individual matches.

A match consists of three foursomes and six singles, each over the same 18 holes, with the foursomes being played first.

The scores are calculated by team results with each team scoring one point for a team win and half a point for a halved match.

If two or more countries score an equal number of team points and have each won the same number of individual games, the tie will be resolved by aggregating the number of holes played in the individual games won and the team with the fewest number of holes played is declared the winner.

The Home Internationals Trophy was presented to the Ladies’ Golf Union by Mr T.H. Miller and is awarded to the winning team. The Hugh C. Kelly Cup is awarded to the captain of the winning team.



2017 Match



The first Home International Match was played between England and Ireland in 1895 at Royal Portrush in Northern Ireland.

The team from England featured founder and secretary of the Ladies’ Golf Union Issette Pearson.

The Home Internationals were played at Royal Troon in 1904, which marked Scotland’s first appearance and victory in the match.

The following year saw the introduction of the coveted International Shield presented to the winning team.

In 1907 all the countries from Great Britain were represented when Wales competed in the Home Internationals.

Match News