The R&A - Working for Golf

The Boys Amateur Championship

The Boys Amateur Championship was inaugurated by two members of Royal Ascot Golf Club in 1921 and played by competitors under the age of 16, before the age limit was raised to 18 two years later. In 1948, The R&A were invited to take over the administration of the event.

Championship Overview

2016 Boys Amateur Champion

Falko Hanisch (GER)

2016 Boys Amateur Championship  Falko Hanisch

Germany’s Falko Hanisch defeated Spain’s Alejandro Aguilera on the 37th hole in an enthralling Final of The 90th Boys Amateur Championship at Muirfield. The 16-year-old became the second German to win the Championship after Bernhard Neumann’s 3&2 victory of Jordan Findlay in 2005.


2017 Boys Amateur Venue Nairn Golf Club




The Nairn and Nairn Dunbar
15-20 August 2017

The 91st Boys Amateur Championship will be played ar Nairn and Nairn Dunbar from 15-20 August 2017. The two courses are located on the shores of the Moray Firth with spectacular views along the adjacent coastline.

Nairn will host the Boys Amateur for the second time, after it first staged the Championship in 1989 when Carl Watts defeated Colin Fraser, while Nairn Dunbar will co-host for the first time.

Nairn was also the setting for the 37th Walker Cup in 1999, when Great Britain and Ireland won 15-9 against the United States, and also staged the Jacques Leglise Trophy in 2004 and the Curtis Cup in 2001, when GB&1 staged a dramatic comeback to end the United States’ 16-year unbeaten record.

Nairn Dunbar has staged a number of amateur championships, including the Scottish Stroke Play Championship, the Senior Men’s Home Internationals, and the Seniors Amateur Championship.

Contact details:

The Nairn Golf Club
Seabank Road
IV12 4HB
Tel: 01667 453208

Nairn Dunbar Golf Club
Lochloy Road
IV12 5AE
Tel: 01667 452741







The first stage of the Championship involves 252 players each of whom plays two rounds of 18 holes, one to be played on each of the two courses.

The 64 lowest scores over the 36 holes and ties for 64th place will compete in the match play stage of the Championship. Each match will consist of one round of 18 holes except the Final which will be over 36 holes.






The Boys Amateur Championship was introduced in 1921. For the first two years it was played at Royal Ascot, but when the club dissolved in 1923, two of its founders, D.M. Mathieson and Colonel Thomas South continued to run the event.

It was recommended in 1949 that The R&A should take on the responsibility of the event and that by doing so it would be acting 'in the best interest and traditions of the game'. The venue for the first Boys Amateur Championship to be played under the administration of The R&A was the Old Course, St Andrews.

One outstanding player who enjoyed early success in the Boys Amateur Championship was Sir Michael Bonallack. He won in 1952, and went on to win the Amateur Championship in 1961, 1965, 1968, 1969 and 1970.

Professionals who won the title earlier in their careers include Ronan Rafferty (1979), Jose Maria Olazabal (1983) and more recently, Sergio Garcia (1997).

Championship News

Championship Videos