The R&A - Working for Golf

Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped

If your ball in motion is deflected or stopped by you, your caddie your partner, or your partner’s caddie, or by equipment belonging to you or your partner, you incur a penalty of one stroke and play the ball as it lies (Rule 19-2).

If your ball in motion is deflected or stopped by another ball at rest, there is normally no penalty and the ball is played as it lies.  However, in stroke play only, if both balls lay on the putting green before you made your stroke, you incur a two-stroke penalty (Rule 19-5a).

Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped