For Immediate Publication


11 October 2011, St Andrews, Scotland: The Open will return to the Home of Golf in 2015 when the 144th Championship is played at St Andrews from 16-19 July.

It will be the 29th time that golf’s oldest Major has been held over the Old Course.

South Africa’s Louis Oosthuizen won by seven shots with a 16-under par total of 272 when The Open was last held at St Andrews in 2010.

The R&A’s Chief Executive Peter Dawson said: “We are delighted to announce that The Open will be returning to St Andrews and the historic Old Course in 2015.

“St Andrews has proved time and again that it is perfectly equipped to host The Open and I am certain we will yet again see a worthy winner lift the Claret Jug.

“Players, spectators and officials alike will welcome a return to the game’s spiritual home and I fully expect that we will witness another thrilling Championship.”

Euan Loudon, Chief Executive of St Andrews Links Trust, said: “We are very much looking forward to welcoming The Open Championship back to the Links.

“There is always a special sense of anticipation when The Open is played on the Old Course and it promises to be no different in 2015.

“Almost every great champion in the game has played here and there is no more fitting celebration of the rich heritage of the Home of Golf than hosting golf’s oldest Major Championship.”

In the course of its 28 Opens, St Andrews has often produced Champions who are the best of their generation. Tiger Woods won by eight and five shots in 2000 and 2005 respectively, joining past winners that include J. H. Taylor (1895, 1900), James Braid (1905, 10), Bobby Jones (1927), Peter Thomson (1955), Bobby Locke (1957), Jack Nicklaus (1970, 78), Seve Ballesteros (1984) and Sir Nick Faldo (1990).

Other memorable moments include Nicklaus waving an emotional farewell from the Swilcan Bridge in 2005 as he ended his remarkable career.

Independent research, commissioned jointly by The R&A and EventScotland, found that the 2010 Open Championship delivered a combined £100 million benefit to Scotland, with £40.1 million entering the local economy.


Note to Editors

The Open Championship is golf’s oldest Major. Played since 1860 on British links golf courses, it is the game’s most international Major Championship with qualifying events on every continent. For one week each year, the pursuit of the famous Claret Jug trophy is the focus of the sporting world, followed globally by millions of fans.

Organised by The R&A, The Open delivers an annual economic benefit of £100 million to its host region, while the Championship’s commercial success supports the development of the game, worldwide.

Previous winners at St Andrews

2010  Louis Oosthuizen

2005  Tiger Woods

2000  Tiger Woods

1995  John Daly

1990  Nick Faldo

1984  Seve Ballesteros

1978  Jack Nicklaus

1970  Jack Nicklaus

1964  Tony Lema

1960  Kel Nagle

1957  Bobby Locke

1955  Peter Thomson

1946  Sam Snead

1939  Dick Burton

1933  Denny Shute

1927  Bobby Jones

1921  Jock Hutchison

1910  James Braid

1905  James Braid

1900  J.H. Taylor

1895  J.H. Taylor

1891  Hugh Kirkaldy

1888  Jack Burns

1885  Bob Martin

1882  Bob Ferguson 

1879  Jamie Anderson

1876  Bob Martin

1873  Tom Kidd

Future Open venues

2012 - 19-22 July, Royal Lytham & St Annes

2013 - 18-21 July, Muirfield

2014 - 17-20 July, Royal Liverpool

Further information:

Malcolm Booth

Head of Communications

The R&A

Tel: +44 1334 460000

Mike Woodcock

Public Relations Manager

St Andrews Links Trust

Tel: +44 1334 466610