Teams Announced for Boys Home Internationals

The teams have been announced for next week’s Boys Home Internationals at Southerness Golf Club. The event, contested by the best players aged 18 or under from England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales, takes place on Tuesday 3 to Thursday 5 August. Defending champions England hope to hold on to The R&A Trophy, which they won in the deciding match against Ireland at Hankley Common in 2009.

The four teams are as follows:

View of Southerness Clubhouse ENGLAND: James Burnett (Sleaford); Oliver Carr (Heswall); Harry Casey (Enfield); Greg Eason (Kirby Muxloe); Jack Heasman (West Essex); Nathan Kimsey (Woodhall Spa); Paul Lockwood (Hessle); Nick Newbold (Kedleston Park); Callum Shinkwin (Moor Park); Toby Tree (Worthing); Colin Walsh (Hayling); Brian Roake (Gerrards Cross - Non-playing Captain)

IRELAND: Stephen Barry (Laytown & Bettystown); Paul Dunne (Greystones); Alex Gleeson (Castle); Liam Harnett (Milltown); Jeff Hopkins (Skerries); Jack Hume (Rathsallagh); Gary Hurley (West Waterford); Dermot McElroy (Ballymena); Matthew McKnight (Lisburn); Colm O’Sullivan (Fota Island); Chris Selfridge (Moyola Park); Liam Martin (Castletroy - Non-playing Captain)

SCOTLAND: Simon Fairburn (Torwoodlee); Grant Forrest (Craigielaw); Scott Gibson (Southerness); Daniel Hendry (Emirates, UAE); Liam Johnston (Dumfries & County); Jamie Lynch (Falkirk Tryst); Jack McDonald (Kilmarnock (Barassie)); Paul McPhee (King James VI); Conor O'Neil (Pollok); Ian Redford (St Andrews New); Ewan Scott (St Andrews); Stuart Wilson (Forfar - Non-playing Captain) 

WALES: Oliver Baker (Cardiff); David Boote (Walton Heath); Zac Galliford (Borth & Ynyslas); Delon Hau (Vale of Glamorgan); Luke Jackson (Worksop); Oliver Lewis (Ludlow); Craig Melding (Neath); Oliver Mottram (Dewstow); Mitchell Reed (Celtic Manor); Callum Roberts (Chester); Julian Sansom (Newport); Leighton Smith (Neath - Non-playing Captain)

England will get the three-day, round-robin event underway on Tuesday morning with their opening tie against Wales. Ireland will then play Scotland in the day’s second match.

Matches will consist of five foursomes matches, followed by ten singles matches, each played over 18 holes at Southerness.

Founded in 1947 and laid out by Mackenzie Ross, Southerness has hosted one previous R&A event, the 1990 Youths Championship. It has also held the Scottish Amateur Championship three times, as well as the Scottish Amateur Stroke Play Championship. The links is situated in Dumfries and Galloway on the shores of the Solway Firth.

The 2010 contest will continue the most exciting and evenly contested period in the history of the event, which has existed in its present format since 1996. Three different nations have prevailed in the last four years with Scotland winning in 2006, England lifting The R&A Trophy in 2007, Ireland emerging victorious in 2008, and England triumphing again in 2009.

Full reports and scores will appear on throughout the three days of competition.