Ruling of the Day - Friday

David Duval incurred a penalty of one stroke whilst playing the 3rd hole during the 2nd round of The Open Championship at Royal St George’s when he accidentally dropped his club which landed on his ball, causing it to move. 

When a player’s ball is in play, if the player, his partner or either of their caddies lifts or moves it, touches the ball purposely or causes the ball to move, the player incurs a penalty of one stroke and the ball must be replaced (Rule 18-2a).

While Duval had no intention to move his ball, the reality was that when he let the club slip from his hand and it unfortunately fell onto his ball, he had caused his ball in play to move.  Duval consulted with the referee walking with his game who confirmed that he would incur a one stroke penalty and that the ball had to be replaced. 

Duval correctly replaced the ball and finished up with a bogey four at the par-3 3rd hole.  Despite birdies on the 7th and 13th, the former Open Champion missed the cut.

Click here to watch a video relating to Rule 18-2a.