Palmer Cup begins at The Stanwich Club

Nick MacAndrew tees-off on the 18th hole of the Old Course.Some of Europe and the USA’s finest collegiate golfers will go head-to-head over the next three days in the Palmer Cup, at The Stanwich Club in Greenwich, Connecticut. The annual match will see teams of eight contest four fourballs, four foursomes and 16 singles ties, to determine this year’s champions.

And taking his place in the European team is Nick MacAndrew, the Aberdeen University star, who won this year’s R&A Foundation Scholars Tournament by an emphatic seven shots on St Andrews’ Old Course. Joining him are Swedes Nils Floren, Jeff Karlsson, Robert Karlsson, Henrik Norlander and Pontus Widegren, Denmark’s Sebastian Cappelen and Ignacio Elvira of Spain.

The USA’s team includes newly crowned World Amateur Golf Ranking Number One Patrick Cantlay, as well as top-20 players Andrew Yun, Russell Henley and Bank Vongvanij.

Click here for live scores from The Stanwich Club.

Patrick CantlayAt Royal Portrush, last year, the USA defeated Europe, 13-11, to claim the Cup. The victory was the Americans first on European soil Europe since 2002, giving them a 7-6-1 overall advantage in the Palmer series.

In 1997, Arnold Palmer was approached by the Golf Coaches Association of America regarding lending his name to an international collegiate event between the United States and Great Britain and Ireland. The event would use a Ryder-Cup-style format and bring together a number of the best collegiate players in the United States against their counterparts from GB&I. The inaugural event was played at his own Bay Hill Club in Florida in June 1997.

Upon conclusion of the 2002 event at Doonbeg in Ireland, a decision was made to alter the team composition by including European players, along with those from Great Britain and Ireland.

Over the last 13 years, the event has witnessed some of the world’s best players in the early stages of their careers, including Luke Donald, Rory Sabbatini, Jonathan Byrd, Ben Curtis, Lucas Glover, Graeme McDowell, Hunter Mahan, Alejandro Canizares, Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano, JB Holmes, Richie Ramsay and Dustin Johnson.