Strong international field at the 86th staging of The Boys Amateur Championship

Some of the world’s leading amateur golfers aged 18 and under will compete for the Boys Amateur Championship trophy from 14-19 August 2012.

A field of 252 golfers from more than 20 countries will feature at Notts (Hollinwell) and Coxmoor golf clubs in Nottinghamshire with particularly strong entries coming from Germany (30), Italy (23), France (21) and Spain (10) and players travelling from as far afield as Australia and Mexico.

The 2011 champion, Harrison Greenberry from Exeter, will aim to defend his title but faces stiff competition from last year’s runner-up, Patrick Kelly, from Boston West, who has won the Fairhaven and Carris trophies this season. Among the other challengers are Matthias Schwab from Austria, the runner-up in the Amateur Championship, Jon Rahm from Spain, who is the highest ranked player in the World Amateur Golf Rankings (WAGR) at 16th and was a member of the winning European team at this year’s Sir Michael Bonallack Trophy, and Victor Tarnstrom from Sweden, who won the individual prize at the European Boys Team Championship in Stockholm last month.

The Scottish Boys Stroke Play champion Greig Marchbank (Dumfries & County) and Scottish Youths champion Ewan Scott from St Andrews will be hoping to take the trophy back north of the border. Local interest centres on Joseph Hague and Ashley Johnson from Coxmoor and Isaac Walker of Notts.

The quality of the field is extremely high with a handicap ballot of 0.3 resulting in 72 reserves and 38 entrants being balloted out of the entry list.

Commenting on the Championship starting line up The R&A’s, Director - Amateur Events, Euan Mordaunt said:

Harrison Greenberry“Some of the golfing stars of the future will be on show in the East Midlands next week and so we encourage golf fans from around the county to come along to support them and see some great championship golf.”

Many of the world’s finest players first showed promise at The Boys including Sandy Lyle, Jose Maria Olazabal, Sergio Garcia, Padraig Harrington, Lee Westwood, Graeme McDowell and Luke Donald. 

The stroke play stage of The Boys Amateur Championship is played on Tuesday 14 and Wednesday 15 August 2012 at both Notts (Hollinwell) and Coxmoor golf courses before the field is cut to 64 and ties and the match play stage finds the champion over the final four days, Thursday 16 to Sunday 19 August 2012 at Notts (Hollinwell).

Free admission, parking and spectator facilities are available at both venues.

Click here to view the draw.