Duke of York Young Champions Trophy 2012

Royal TroonThe R&A supported Duke of York Young Champions Trophy takes place this week from 11 – 13 of September at Royal Troon.

The 12th edition of the 54-hole stroke play tournament brings together 58 under-18 boy and girl champions from 33 countries, all in pursuit of the Young Champions Trophy that was won by England’s Harry Casey last year.

South Africa’s Haydn Porteous (+5.0) is the highest ranked amateur in the field, ranked 38th in the World Amateur Golf Rankings (WAGR).  Boys Amateur Champion Matt Fitzpatrick and Junior Open Champion Asuka Kashiwabara also compete along with recent Jacques Leglise Trophy participants Patrick Kelly, Max Orrin and Dominic Foos.

Past participants include Rory McIlroy, Matteo Manassero, Anna Nordqvist, Tom Lewis and Carly Booth.

Spectators are welcome and admission is free of charge, a great opportunity to witness golf’s future stars.