England going for three in a row at The Boys Home Internationals

England will be bidding to make it three victories in a row at The Boys Home Internationals at Forest Pines in North Lincolnshire next week.

With four members of last year’s winning team in their ranks again this year, Jack Singh Brar, Robert Burlison, Bobby Keeble and Ashton Turner, England, led by captain Derek Hughes, will be confident as they bid to win their 14th title since the event changed to its current format in 1996.

The host nation will get the event underway at 8.00am on Tuesday (August 6) when they face Wales, captained by Leighton Smith. Last year’s runners-up Scotland, with the recently crowned Scottish Boys Stroke Play champion Robert MacIntyre in their line-up, will be looking to get off to a good start against Ireland who have seven players in their team from last year’s matches at County Louth.

The teams are as follows:

England: Ben Amor (Marlborough), Robert Burlison (Oakley Park), Adam Chapman (Windermere), Harry Ellis (Meon Valley), Bobby Keeble (Crowlands Heath), Haydn McCullen (Delamere Forest), Bradley Moore (Kedleston Park), Marco Penge (Worthing), Jack Singh Brar (Brokenhurst Manor), Jake Storey (Alnmouth), Ashton Turner (Kenwick Park).

Ireland: David Carey (Carton House), Robin Dawson (Faithlegg), Sean Flanagan (County Sligo), Jordan Hood (Galgorm Castle), Gareth Lappin (Belvoir Park), Rowan Lester (Hermitage), Paul McBride (The Island), Ronan Mullarney (Galway), Alec Myles (Newlands), James Sugrue (Mallow) and Jack Walsh (Castle).

Scotland: Ewen Ferguson (Bearsden), Calum Hill (Tantallon), Robert MacIntyre (Glencruitten), Benjamin Kinsley (St Andrews), Cameron Kirkwood (Bearsden), Niall McMullen (Lundin), Alan Waugh (Cowglen), Connor Syme (Dumfries & County), George Burns (Williamwood), Euan Walker (Kilmarnock (Barassie) and Stuart Easton (Irvine).

Wales: Joshua Davies (Celtic Manor), Thomas Davies (Penrhos), Jack Davidson (Llanwern), Kyle Harman (Cottrell Park), Tim Harry (Vale Resort), Rhys Jones (Mountain Ash), Daniel King (Newport), Otto Mand (Greenmeadow), Alex Matthews (Cardiff), Charlie Spencer-White (Cradoc) and Thomas Williams (Wrexham).

The Boys Home Internationals has been a proving ground for dozens of Walker Cup players and future Major Championship winners including reigning US Open Champion Justin Rose, six-time Major winner Sir Nick Faldo, former Open and Masters Champion Sandy Lyle, former Open Champion Darren Clarke, former US Open and current US PGA Champion, Rory McIlroy.

Last year’s victorious England side included Hallamshire’s Matthew Fitzpatrick who went on to win The Boys Amateur title and was leading amateur and winner of the Silver Medal at this year’s Open Championship at Muirfield.

Euan Mordaunt, The R&A’s Director - Amateur Events, said: “It will be great to see the best boy golfers from throughout Great Britain and Ireland compete against each other at The Boys Home Internationals.  The players take great pride in representing their countries, often for the first time, and we hope golf fans will turn out in numbers to support these young players at what will be an exciting sporting event.” 

Spectators are admitted free of charge to the event, which runs from Tuesday, 6 August to Thursday, 8 August, and The R&A is funding free PGA Professional golf lessons. The playing format is a full round robin series of matches comprising five morning foursomes and ten afternoon singles matches. The morning foursomes tee off from 8.00am and the afternoon singles matches from 12.30pm each day. 

Full match details can be found at championships.randa.org.