Europe Wins Palmer Cup at Walton Heath

Europe dominated the final day singles matches to defeat the United States 18.5-11.5 at the 2014 Palmer Cup at Walton Heath Golf Club in Surrey.

The annual match, named after Arnold Palmer and supported by The R&A, is played between top male student golfers from the United States and Europe. The Ryder Cup-style format consists of fourball, foursome and singles matches played over three days.

With the teams tied at ten points each ahead of the final day singles, Scotland’s James Ross began the European domination with a 3&2 victory over Brandon Hagy. Grant Forrest made it back-to-back wins for the Scottish contingent when he defeated Trey Mullinax, 3&2.

The United States’ lone singles victory on the final day was Ollie Schniederjans over 2014 R&A Foundation Scholars’ champion Louis Tomlinson of England. Schniederjans, who is currently the number one ranked player in the WORLD AMATEUR GOLF RANKING™, won by 5&3.

Belgium’s Thomas Detry reignited the European winning streak beating Jack Maguire 4&3. Scotland’s Jack McDonald defeated Bryson Dechambeau 2&1 while Ireland’s Paul Dunne survived an early surge by America’s Robby Shelton to win by one hole. Spain’s Jon Rahm clinched the match for Europe with a 4&2 victory over Wyndham Clark.

Ricardo Gouveia of Portugal and Rico Hoey from California were named recipients of the Michael Carter Award presented to the Palmer Cup participants that best represent the qualities of sportsmanship and integrity.

Europe has now won the last three Palmer Cups staged at home following wins at Royal Portrush in 2010 and at Royal County Down two years ago. The United States leads the all-time Palmer Cup series 9-8-1 since the inaugural event in 1997 at Bay Hill in Florida. The 2015 Palmer Cup match will be played at Rich Harvest Farms near Chicago from 12-14 June.

Past Palmer Cup players include 2003 Open Champion Ben Curtis, Graeme McDowell, Lucas Glover, Bill Haas, Hunter Mahan, Luke Donald, Webb Simpson and Francesco Molinari.