The R&A - Working for Golf

The Boys Home Internationals

The Boys Home Internationals began life in 1923 as a match between the boys teams of England and Scotland, played on the day before the Boys Amateur Championship. In 1972, a match between Ireland and Wales was added. And since 1996, the internationals have been played as a round robin event between the four countries over three days.

Match Overview

2018 Boys Home International Champions


2016 Boys Home Internationals  England

England were crowned the 2018 Boys Home Internationals champions with a 100% record after winning all three matches against Ireland, Scotland and Wales at Royal Dornoch to successfully defend the trophy which they won at St Annes Old Links.

2019 MATCH


2019 MATCH



Royal Dornoch
7-9 August 2018

The Boys Home Internationals will be played at Royal Dornoch from 7-9 August 2018. The current golf club was founded in 1877 and was awarded Royal status in 1906. The Championship Course design is attributed to Old Tom Morris. Widely regarded as one of the world’s finest links courses, it has hosted The Amateur Championship in 1985 and the Scottish Amateur Championship on three occasions: 1993, 2000, and 2012.

Five-time Champion Golfer of the Year, Tom Watson, is an honorary member of Royal Dornoch.

Contact details:

Royal Dornoch
Golf Road
IV25 3LW
Tel: +44 (0)1862 810219



2019 MATCH




This is a round robin international series at Boys level with each of the four home countries playing against one another. The matches comprise five morning foursomes followed by ten afternoon singles.



2019 MATCH



The Boys Home Internationals began 1923 as a match between the boys teams of England and Scotland. In 1972, a match between Ireland and Wales was added.

Since 1996, the internationals have reverted to four home countries competing against one another over three consecutive days in a round robin series on golf courses throughout Great Britain and Ireland.

Each fixture comprises five morning foursomes, followed by ten afternoon singles.

England hold the record for the highest number of wins since the new format was introduced (15). Ireland have won it four times and Scotland twice.

The R&A Trophy is awarded to the winning team.

Match News

Match Videos