The R&A - Working for Golf

The Curtis Cup

First played in 1932, the Curtis Cup is the best-known team trophy for women amateur golfers and contested biennially by teams representing Great Britain and Ireland and the United States.

It is organised by The R&A and the United States Golf Association (USGA).

Match Overview

2016 Curtis Cup Winners

Great Britain and Ireland

2016 Curtis Cup Winners GB I

Great Britain and Ireland regained the Curtis Cup at Dun Laoghaire Golf Club after a 11½-8½ victory over the United States. The win was GB&I's second win in four years following their win at Nairn in 2012.

2018 MATCH


2018 MATCH



Quaker Ridge, USA
8-10 June 2018

The Curtis Cup will be played at Quaker Ridge, USA from 8-10 June 2018.

The club was formed in 1916 by a group of businessmen who had acquired the land a year and the course was developed by golf course designer AW Tillinghast, opening in 1918. It staged the Walker Cup match between Great Britain and Ireland and the United States in 1997.

The Great Britain and Ireland team was captained by Clive Brown and featured Justin Rose, who was the youngest player to play in the Walker Cup.

Quaker Ridge has also hosted a number of tournaments including the Metropolitan Amateur, one of the United States’ older amateur golf championships, the Metropolitan Open, which was on the PGA Tour from 1916-1940, and the Metropolitan PGA Championship, which was won twice by Gene Sarazen, the 1932 Champion Golfer of the Year.

Contact details:

Quaker Ridge Golf Club
146 Griffen Avenue
Scarsdale, NY, 10583

Tel: 914-725-1100


The 2020 match will be played at Conwy Golf Club, Wales from 12th – 14th August 2020. For further information please email our Championships department.



2018 MATCH



The Curtis Cup in played over three days of competition, with three foursomes and three fourball matches on each of the first two days, and eight singles matches on the final day, a total of 20 points.



2018 MATCH



The first Curtis Cup Match was played in 1932 at the Wentworth Club in England and won by the American team.

A silver bowl of Paul Revere design, was donated by Harriot and Margaret Curtis and is presented to the winning team.

The golfing sisters, who were both US Women’s Amateur Champions, wanted to promote international friendships in women’s golf after competing in an informal match between Great Britain and America in 1905.

The Curtis sisters donated the trophy in 1927 to help discussion between various golfing associations to establish the match. But it was not until 1931 that the LGU and the USGA agreed to co-sponsor the event.

Match News