The R&A - Working for Golf

The Girls Home Internationals

The Girls Home Internationals was first played in 1935.

The championship is an annual event played over three days featuring teams from England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales.

Match Overview

2018 Girls Home Internationals Champions


2017 Girls Home Internationa Matches Winner England

England won the Girls Home Internationals after a final day victory at Ballybunion, Ireland.

2019 MATCH

Ballybunion Old Course

2019 MATCH



Downfield Golf Club
7-9 August 2019

The Girls Home Internationals will be played at Downfield from 7-9 August 2019. Having hosted the event in 2000, the beautiful parkland venue in the city of Dundee will again welcome leading girl amateurs from across GB&I. In 2016, Downfield was also chosen as a qualifying course for the Senior Open which was played at Carnoustie. 

In 2016, Downfield was also chosen as a qualifying course for the Senior Open which was played at Carnoustie. In the past, it has also played host to other prestigious events such as the Scottish PGA Open, the SPGA Masters and the Scottish Amateur Championship. It was also the venue for the 1999 and 2007 Open Qualifying stage.

Contact details:

Downfield Golf Club
Turnberry Avenue
Tel: +44 (0)1382 825 595



2019 MATCH



Teams from England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales compete against each other in individual matches.

A match consists of three foursomes and six singles, each over the same 18 holes, with the foursomes being played first.

The scores are calculated by team results with each team scoring one point for a team win and half a point for a halved match.

If two or more countries score an equal number of team points and have each won the same number of individual games, the tie will be resolved by aggregating the number of holes played in the individual games won and the team with the fewest number of holes played is declared the winner.



2019 MATCH



The first Girls’ Home International Match was played in 1935.

The teams from England, Scotland, Ireland and Wales compete for the Stroyan Cup.

Since 2008, England have won every staging of the Girls Home Internationals - other than Ireland's victory in 2016.

Match News