The R&A - Working for Golf

USA aim for third consecutive Eisenhower Trophy

The world’s leading amateur golfer Maverick McNealy will be among the players to watch in a stellar field competing for the Eisenhower Trophy at the World Amateur Team Championships in Riviera Maya, Mexico this week (21-24 September).

The 21-year-old Stanford University scholar, who has amassed ten collegiate victories over the past two seasons in his rise to the top of the World Amateur Golf Ranking™ (WAGR™), is joined in a strong United States’ team by US Amateur runner-up and former Junior PGA Champion Brad Dalke, and Scottie Scheffler, the former US Junior Amateur Champion.

McNealy, who was awarded the Mark H McCormack Medal as the leading player in the 2016 WAGR™, will spearhead the USA’s quest for a third win in a row in the Eisenhower Trophy after triumphs at Antalya, Turkey in 2012 and Karuizawa, Japan two years ago.

No less than 19 of the top 25 golfers in the WAGR™ will feature in the four-day Championship, underlining the strength of the field.

Strong contenders include Australia, who have selected 2016 US Amateur Champion Curtis Luck (No.3), 2015 Australian Amateur Champion Cameron Davis (No.11) and Harrison Endycott (No.12), who has picked up five wins on the amateur circuit in his home country this season. They are captained by Matt Cutler, who led the Australian women’s team to the Espirito Santo Trophy win in 2014.

The 2016 Amateur Champion Scott Gregory (No.7) is selected for England alongside Brabazon Trophy winner Jamie Bower (No.15) and Alfie Plant, who won the Lytham Trophy earlier this year. The threesome also featured in the Great Britain and Ireland team that drew with the Continent of Europe to retain the St Andrews Trophy at Prince’s in Kent in July.

Scotland’s trio of Robert MacIntyre (No.13), runner-up to Gregory in The Amateur Championship at Royal Porthcawl this year, Grant Forrest (No.19), who was part of the winning GB&I Walker Cup teamlast year, and Australian Amateur Champion Connor Syme (No.27) are also a team to watch.

A number of the world’s greatest golfers have played in the Eisenhower Trophy, including Jack Nicklaus and Tiger Woods, members of the winning United States’ teams in 1960 and 1994, 2014 Champion Golfer of the Year Rory McIlroy, 2003 Champion Golfer of the Year Ben Curtis, former US Open winners Tom Kite and Michael Campbell, two-time Masters Champion Ben Crenshaw and Curtis Strange, twice a Major Champion.

The biennial event, which is organised by the International Golf Federation (IGF), follows on from the Espirito Santo Trophy women’s event and will be staged at the Mayakoba El Camaleon and Playa Paraíso Golf Club, on the Caribbean coastline of north eastern Mexico’s Yucatán Peninsula.

The championship will feature players in teams of two or three representing nations who are affiliated to the IGF. Each team member plays 18 holes of stroke play for four days.

In each round, the total of the two lowest scores from each team constitutes the team score for the round. The four-day (72-hole) total is the team’s score for the championship.

For more information about the Eisenhower Trophy and the World Amateur Team Championships, please visit the IGF website