The R&A - Working for Golf

World’s Top-Ranked Women Golfers Featured At Espirito Santo Trophy

The world’s best women’s amateur golfers will compete for the Espirito Santo Trophy when the World Amateur Team Championships take place in Riviera Maya, Mexico from 14-17 September.

No less than 10 of the world’s top 20 golfers from the World Amateur Golf Ranking™ will participate in the four-day championship, including Leona Maguire, of the Republic of Ireland, who recently won the women’s Mark H. McCormack medal for the second time after finishing as the leading amateur golfer in two consecutive years.

The 21-year-old, who also finished tied for 21st when she competed for her country at the Rio Olympic Games, is joined on the Ireland team by compatriot and WAGR No. 5 Olivia Mehaffey and promising youngster Annabel Wilson, while the highly ranked Spanish duo Maria Parra Luque (No. 4) and Luna Sobron Galmes (No. 12) are also included in their country’s team selection.

Leona Maguire tees it up for Ireland at the Rio Olympics
Leona Maguire tees it up for Ireland at the Rio Olympics

The United States of America , which has won the Espirito Santo Trophy a record 13 times, look likely to be among the favorites, selecting a strong trio of Mariel Galdiano (No. 6), Katelyn Dambaugh (No. 11) and Andrea Lee (No. 17) to bolster their chances of securing the title for the first time since 1998 when the USA won at the Price of Wales Country Club in Santiago, Chile.

Italian Virginia Elena Carta (No. 13), who finished runner-up to Korean sensation Eun-jeong Seong in the U.S. Women’s Amateur Championship last month and Sweden’s Linnea Strom (No. 8), a European Junior Ryder Cup team member and twice gold medallist at the European Team Championship (2013, 2014), are also players to watch..

Defending champions Australia, which came from seven strokes behind Canada to win the 2014 Espirito Santo Trophy at Karuizawa, Japan, will be represented by Robyn Choi, Karis Davidson and Hannah Green.

Linnea Strom of Sweden in action at the Junior Ryder Cup
Linnea Strom of Sweden in action at the Junior Ryder Cup

The Republic of Korea, which has won the championship three times in the last 20 years, counts 2015 World Junior Girls Champion Hye-Jin Choi in their ranks, alongside Australian Amateur Champion Min-Ji Park and last year’s Queen Sirikit Cup winner Hyun-Kyung Park.

The ‘home’ side from Mexico, which also hosted the World Amateur Team Championships in 1966, includes: Maria Fassi, Isabella Fierro and Ana Paula Valdes, the only returner from the team that finished seventh in Japan in 2014.

Two nations, Bulgaria and Morocco, are making their first appearances in the Women’s World Amateur Team Championships.

Virginia Elena Carta recently finished runner-up in the US Women's Amateur
Virginia Elena Carta recently finished runner-up in the US Women's Amateur

Notable past participants in the Espirito Santo Trophy at the World Amateur Team Championships include Catherine Lacoste (France), who won the U.S. Women’s Open as an amateur in 1967 and took part in the inaugural event in 1964, 10-time major champion Annika Sorenstam (Sweden), two-time major champion Suzann Petterson (Norway), 2010 U.S. Women’s Open Champion Paula Creamer (USA), and 2009 LPGA Champion Anna Nordqvist (Sweden).

The biennial event, which is organized by the International Golf Federation (IGF), will be staged at the Mayakoba El Camaleon and Playa Paraíso Golf Club, which are located on a stretch of Caribbean coastline on Mexico’s northeastern Yucatán Peninsula.

The championship will feature 164 players, in teams of two or three representing 55 nations who are affiliated to the IGF. Each team member plays 18-holes of stroke play for four days.

In each round, the total of the two lowest scores from each team constitutes the team score for the round. The four-day (72-hole) total is the team’s score for the championship.

For more information about the Espirito Santo Trophy and the World Amateur Team Championships, please visit the IGF website