The R&A - Working for Golf

USA Walker Cup team announced by USGA

• USGA announce 2017 United States 10 man Walker Cup team.

• Great Britain and Ireland will face the USA in match at The Los Angeles Country Club next motnh.

• USA aiming to win back trophy after GB&I’s victory at Royal Lytham & St Annes in 2015.

The United States Golf Association have announced the 10 players who will make up the 2017 United States Walker Cup Team.

Spider Miller will captain the United States team for a second time.
Spider Miller will captain the United States team for a second time.

Great Britain and Ireland will take on the USA in the 46th Match at The Los Angeles Country Club’s North Course, Saturday and Sunday, from 9 – 10 September.

The 10 players chosen by the USGA’s International Team Selection Committee and captained by John “Spider” Miller are: Cameron Champ, 21, of Sacramento, Calif.; Doug Ghim, 21, of Arlington Heights, Ill.; Stewart Hagestad, 26, of Newport Beach, Calif.; Maverick McNealy, 21, of Portola Valley, Calif.; Collin Morikawa, 20, of La Canada Flintridge, Calif.; Doc Redman, 19, of Raleigh, N.C.; Scottie Scheffler, 21, of Dallas, Texas; Braden Thornberry, 20, of Olive Branch, Miss.; Norman Xiong, 18, of Canyon Lake, Calif.; and Will Zalatoris, 21, of Plano, Texas. McNealy is the lone returning player from the 2015 USA Team.

“George Herbert Walker’s vision was for leading amateur golfers to come together for a friendly competition to promote interest in the game on both sides of the Atlantic Ocean,” said Diana M. Murphy, the USGA president.

“The United States Team is a talented group of players who will work together to be competitive against Great Britain and Ireland, but at the same time uphold the ideals of friendship and understanding that were foreseen nearly a century ago.”

“It is a great honor to serve as the USA captain and to work with a group of young men who represent the best of amateur golf in this country,” said USA captain John “Spider” Miller, who played on the 1999 USA Walker Cup Team, won two U.S. Mid-Amateur Championships and also captained the 2015 USA Team, which lost, 16½ -9½.

“The squad members have a long list of individual and team accomplishments but they are now committed both to representing the United States and to the spirit and tradition of the Walker Cup Match.”

2016 Mark H. McCormack Medal winner Maverick McNealy will play in his second Walker Cup.
2016 Mark H. McCormack Medal winner Maverick McNealy will play in his second Walker Cup.

The Walker Cup Match will be conducted for the third time on the West Coast and was previously hosted by Seattle Golf Club in 1961 and Cypress Point Club, in Pebble Beach, in 1981. This year’s match will be played on The Los Angeles County Club’s North Course, which was designed by George C. Thomas Jr. and restored by Gil Hanse. The course will be set up at 7,425 yards and play to a par of 35-36-71.

“Amateur golf is central to the USGA’s mission and we are meticulous in our selection of the USA Walker Team,” said Stuart Francis, USGA Championship Committee chairman. “The Los Angeles Country Club, which hosted USGA championships in 1930 and 1954, has the same dedication and will be a tremendous venue for this international competition.”

Sam Burns, 21, of Shreveport, Dawson Armstrong, 21, of Brentwood, and Dylan Meyer, 22, of Evansville, are the first, second and third alternatives, respectively.