The R&A - Working for Golf

Farquharson-Black to captain GB&I Curtis Cup team

Elaine Farquharson-Black will captain Great Britain and Ireland in the Curtis Cup for the second time when the biennial encounter against the United States is played at Quaker Ridge from 8-10 June 2018.

Curtis Cup success

Farquharson-Black, who played in the 1990 and 1992 matches, led GB&I to a 11½-8½ win over the United States when it was contested at Dun Laoghaire last year and will be looking to retain the trophy when the two sides face each other in New York next summer.

She will be assisted again by Helen Hewlett who will act as team manager for GB&I.

Proud to be captain

Elaine Farquharson-Black, captain of Great Britain and Ireland, said, “I am very proud to have been selected to captain Great Britain and Ireland again and I am looking forward to the challenge of retaining the trophy after our memorable win at Dun Laoghaire last year.

“We will be working with a very talented group of golfers over the coming months before we select a team of eight players for what promises to be a thrilling match against the United States next summer.” 

Elaine Farquharson
Elaine Farquharson-Black will captain GB&I Curtis Cup team for the second time.

Quaker Ridge visit

An invited group of six players will join Farquharson-Black on a visit to Quaker Ridge next week, including Alice Hewson, Leona Maguire and OIivia Mehaffey who all played in the winning GB&I team in 2016. India Clyburn, Sophie Lamb and Annabel Wilson will also join the trip to the east coast of the United States which will include opportunities for the players to practice on the course.

Next year’s match will mark the 40th staging of the Curtis Cup. It has been won 28 times by the United States and 8 times by GB&I with three matches having been tied (1936, 1958 and 1994).

After staging the Walker Cup in 1997, Quaker Ridge will become only the third course in the United States to have hosted both the Curtis Cup and Walker Cup following The Minikahda Club (1957 Walker Cup, 1998 Curtis Cup) and Merion Golf Club (1954 Curtis Cup, 2009 Walker Cup).