The R&A - Working for Golf

USA Retain Arnold Palmer Cup

The United States claimed 18 of 24 points in the final round of singles matches as they pulled away for a 38½ to 21½ victory at the Arnold Palmer Cup at Evian Resort Golf Club, France.

Their victory is a first for a visiting team since their fellow Americans won in 2010 at Royal Portrush, with neither side having retained the cup since the US in 2011. The United States now leads the all-time series 12-9-1.

The United States team of 12 male and female college golfers won 17 of the 24 singles matches and halved two others to defeat their International counterparts.

Alana Uriell, who just finished her senior year at Arkansas, grabbed the deciding point, beating Kent State junior Pimnipa Panthong, 2&1.

Since 1997, the annual competition was a men’s only event that pitted players from the U.S. against Europe. But the 2018 expansion of the three-day Ryder Cup-style competition—adding women and including golfers from all countries—was greeted with enthusiasm.

“It made an already incredible competition even more so,” said Alabama men’s coach Jay Seawell, who captained the victorious U.S. team in 2013. “Some of these young men and women aren’t going to have a chance to play in a Ryder Cup or Solheim Cup, so to get to play for their countries in an elite event like this is a special opportunity.”

US dominate singles

Having men and women on each roster allowed the squads to play mixed team four-ball and foursomes competitions over the first two days.

The U.S. side jumped to an early 8-4 lead on Friday in mixed four-ball, only to see the International team win 7½ of 12 points in the Saturday morning foursomes. But the U.S. took the Saturday afternoon four-ball session 8-4, then went on to dominate the singles.

American Emilia Migliaccio was the only player in this year's competition to go 4-0 in their matches.

Ireland's Olivia Mehaffey and Collin Morikawa of the U.S., were the winners of the Michael Carter Award, given to the participants that best represent the qualities and ideals of sportsmanship, integrity and upholding of the game.

Justin Suh earned an exemption into the PGA Tour's Arnold Palmer Invitational, and Dylan Kim will receive an invitation into this year's Evian Championship. The honours were given after a vote of their teammates.

Alumni of the event include major champions (Dustin Johnson, Justin Thomas, Ben Curtis, Webb Simpson, Graeme McDowell and Webb Simpson) and winners of a combined 195 events on the PGA and European Tours.

Final scores can be found here.