The R&A - Working for Golf

Rules Clarification at AIG Women's Open

Yesterday, as part of its normal TV review procedures, The R&A viewed Lexi Thompson’s actions prior to playing her second shot at the 16th hole in round one of the AIG Women’s Open.

Following a discussion between Chief Referee David Rickman and the player prior to her signing her scorecard it was determined that, although the player had moved a growing natural object behind her ball, it had returned to its original position.

Therefore, the lie of the ball was not improved and there was no breach of Rule 8.1.