Purpose: Rule 10 covers how to prepare for and make a stroke, including advice and other help the player may get from others (including caddies). The underlying principle is that golf is a game of skill and personal challenge.
These terms have overlapping meanings but can be defined through these three examples of using the club in a manner not allowed by the Rule:
In fairly striking a ball, any part of the clubhead may be used, including the toe, heel and back of the clubhead.
In fairly striking a ball, it is not necessary for the clubhead to make contact with the ball. Sometimes other material may intervene.
An example of fairly striking a ball includes when a ball is lying against the base of a fence defining out of bounds and the player makes a stroke at the out-of-bounds side of the fence to make the ball move.
Holding a forearm against the body during a stroke is an indirect means of anchoring the club.
For an "anchor point" to exist, two things must happen: (1) the player must hold a forearm against the body; and (2) the player must grip the club so that the hands are separated and work independently from each other.
For example, in making a stroke with a long putter, the player's forearm is held against his or her body to establish a stable point, while the bottom hand is held down the shaft to swing the lower portion of the club.
However, a player is allowed to hold one or both forearms against his or her body in making a stroke, so long as doing so does not create an anchor point.
Clothing held against the body by a club or gripping hand is treated as if it is part of the player's body for the purpose of applying Rule 10.1b. The concept of a free-flowing swing may not be circumvented by having something intervene between the player's body and club or hand.
For example, if a player is wearing a rain jacket and is using a mid-length putter, and presses the club into his or her body, the player is in breach of Rule 10.1b.
Additionally, if the player deliberately uses a gripping hand to hold an article of clothing worn on any part of the body (such as holding the sleeve of a shirt with a hand) while making a stroke, there is a breach of Rule 4.3 (Prohibited Use of Equipment) since that is not its intended use and doing so might assist the player in making that stroke.
Touching an article of clothing with the club or gripping hand and making a stroke is allowed.
This might occur in various situations where a player:
If a caddie is being shared by more than one player, any of the players sharing that caddie may seek information from him or her.
For example, two players are sharing a caddie and both hit tee shots into a similar area. One of the players gets a club to make the stroke, while the other is undecided. The undecided player is allowed to ask the shared caddie what club the other player chose.
If a player gets advice from someone other than his or her caddie (such as a spectator) without asking for it, he or she gets no penalty. However, if the player continues to get advice from that same person, the player must try to stop that person from giving advice. If the player does not do so, he or she is treated as asking for that advice and gets the penalty under Rule 10.2a.
In a team competition (Rule 24), this also applies to a player who gets advice from a team captain who has not been named an advice giver.
Rule 10.2b(3) does not allow a player to set down an object (such as an alignment rod or a golf club) to help the player take a stance.
However, this prohibition does not prevent a player from setting his or her clubhead behind the ball, such as when a player stands behind the ball and places the clubhead perpendicular to the line of play and then walks around from behind the ball to take his or her stance.
Rule 10.2b(4) does not allow a player to have his or her caddie deliberately stand behind him or her when the player begins taking a stance because aiming at the intended target is one of the challenges the player must overcome alone.
There is no set procedure for determining when a player has begun to take a stance since each player has his or her own set-up routine. However, if a player has his or her feet or body close to a position where useful guidance on aiming at the intended target could be given, it should be decided that the player has begun to take his or her stance.
Examples of when a player has begun to take a stance include when:
Rule 10.2b(4) does not allow a player to have his or her caddie deliberately stand on or close to an extension of the line of play behind the ball for any reason when the player begins taking a stance for the stroke. Reference to “the stroke” means the stroke that is actually made.
The player begins to take the stance for the stroke that is actually made when he or she has at least one foot in position for that stance.
If a player backs away from the stance, he or she has not taken a stance for the stroke that is actually made, and the second bullet point in Rule 10.2b(4) does not apply.
Therefore, if a player takes a stance when the caddie is deliberately standing on or close to an extension of the line of play behind the ball, there is no penalty under Rule 10.2b(4) if the player backs away from the stance and does not begin to take a stance for the stroke that is actually made until after the caddie has moved out of that location. This applies anywhere on the course.
Backing away means that the player’s feet or body are no longer in a position where helpful guidance on aiming at the intended target line could be given.
(Clarification added 2/2019)
Rule 10.2b(4) does not allow a player to have his or her caddie deliberately stand on or close to an extension of the line of play behind the ball for any reason when the player begins taking a stance for the stroke.
The use of the term “deliberately” requires the caddie to be aware that (1) the player is beginning to take a stance for the stroke to be played, and (2) he or she is standing on or close to an extension of the line of play behind the ball.
If the caddie is unaware of either of these two things, the caddie’s action is not deliberate and Rule 10.2b(4) does not apply.
Examples of when a caddie’s action is not considered to be deliberate include when:
But, in the examples given above, when the caddie becomes aware that the player has already begun to take a stance for the stroke to be played and he or she is standing on or close to an extension of the line of play behind the ball, the caddie needs to make every effort to move out of the way.
Common acts that caddies take unrelated to the player setting up to the ball, such as checking to see if a player’s club will hit a tree, whether the player has interference from a cart path or holding an umbrella over a player’s head before the stroke, are not treated as deliberate actions under Rule 10.2b(4). After helping the player with such an act, there is no penalty so long as the caddie moves away before the stroke is made.
If either the player or caddie is attempting to circumvent the primary purpose of Rule 10.2b(4), which is to ensure that aiming at the intended target is a challenge that the player must overcome alone, the caddie’s actions are treated as being deliberate.
(Clarification added 2/2019)
Interpretation 10.2b(4)/1 explains that the primary purpose of Rule 10.2b(4) is to ensure that aiming at the intended target is a challenge that the player must overcome alone.
In a situation where a player has not yet begun to take his or her stance for the stroke but:
the player is treated as having begun to take a stance for the stroke (even though his or her feet are not in that position) only if the caddie gives the player help with alignment.
If alignment help is given but the player backs away before making the stroke and the caddie moves out from behind the line of play, there is no breach of the Rule. This applies anywhere on the course.
Alignment help includes when the caddie gives help by standing behind the player and moving away without saying anything but, by doing so, is giving a signal to the player that he or she is correctly aimed at the intended target.
(Clarification added 2/2019)
Although a player may not place an object or position a person for the purpose of blocking the sunlight from the ball, the player may ask a person (such as a spectator) not to move when that spectator is already in position, so that a shadow remains over the ball, or may ask that spectator to move, so that his or her shadow is no longer over the ball.
Although a player must not improve conditions affecting the stroke to protect against the elements, he or she may wear protective clothing to protect against the elements.
For example, if a player's ball comes to rest right next to a cactus, it would breach Rule 8.1a (Actions That Improve Conditions Affecting the Stroke) if he or she placed a towel on the cactus to improve his or her area of intended stance. However, a towel may be wrapped around the player's body to protect him or her from the cactus.
A player whose clubs are transported on a motorized golf cart that he or she is driving is allowed to hire an individual to perform all the other duties of a caddie, and this individual is considered to be a caddie.
This arrangement is allowed provided the player has not also hired someone else to drive the cart. In such a case, the cart driver is also a caddie since he is transporting the player's clubs, and the player gets a penalty under Rule 10.3a(1) for having more than one caddie.
A player in a competition may caddie for another player in the same competition, except when the player is playing his or her round or when a Local Rule restricts the player from being a caddie.
For example:
So long as it is reasonable to conclude that the player is taking relief under a Rule, his or her caddie is treated as being given authorization to lift the ball and may do so without penalty.
(Clarification added 12/2018)
All areas outside the boundary edge of the course as defined by the Committee. All areas inside that edge are in bounds.
The boundary edge of the course extends both up above the ground and down below the ground:
The boundary edge should be defined by boundary objects or lines:
Boundary stakes or lines should be white.
All areas outside the boundary edge of the course as defined by the Committee. All areas inside that edge are in bounds.
The boundary edge of the course extends both up above the ground and down below the ground:
The boundary edge should be defined by boundary objects or lines:
Boundary stakes or lines should be white.
When a ball at rest has left its original spot and come to rest on any other spot, and this can be seen by the naked eye (whether or not anyone actually sees it do so).
This applies whether the ball has gone up, down or horizontally in any direction away from its original spot.
If the ball only wobbles (sometimes referred to as oscillating) and stays on or returns to its original spot, the ball has not moved.
Interpretation Moved/1 - When Ball Resting on Object Has Moved
For the purpose of deciding whether a ball must be replaced or whether a player gets a penalty, a ball is treated as having moved only if it has moved in relation to a specific part of the larger condition or object it is resting on, unless the entire object the ball is resting on has moved in relation to the ground.
An example of when a ball has not moved includes when:
Examples of when a ball has moved include when:
Interpretation Moved/2 - Television Evidence Shows Ball at Rest Changed Position but by Amount Not Reasonably Discernible to Naked Eye
When determining whether or not a ball at rest has moved, a player must make that judgment based on all the information reasonably available to him or her at the time, so that he or she can determine whether the ball must be replaced under the Rules. When the player's ball has left its original position and come to rest in another place by an amount that was not reasonably discernible to the naked eye at the time, a player's determination that the ball has not moved is conclusive, even if that determination is later shown to be incorrect through the use of sophisticated technology.
On the other hand, if the Committee determines, based on all of the evidence it has available, that the ball changed its position by an amount that was reasonably discernible to the naked eye at the time, the ball will be determined to have moved even though no-one actually saw it move.
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:
A caddie may also help the player in other ways allowed by the Rules (see Rule 10.3b).
Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:
A caddie may also help the player in other ways allowed by the Rules (see Rule 10.3b).
Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:
A caddie may also help the player in other ways allowed by the Rules (see Rule 10.3b).
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:
A caddie may also help the player in other ways allowed by the Rules (see Rule 10.3b).
Any verbal comment or action (such as showing what club was just used to make a stroke) that is intended to influence a player in:
But advice does not include public information, such as:
Interpretation Advice/1 - Verbal Comments or Actions That Are Advice
Examples of when comments or actions are considered advice and are not allowed include:
Interpretation Advice/2 - Verbal Comments or Actions That Are Not Advice
Examples of comments or actions that are not advice include:
Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:
A caddie may also help the player in other ways allowed by the Rules (see Rule 10.3b).
Any verbal comment or action (such as showing what club was just used to make a stroke) that is intended to influence a player in:
But advice does not include public information, such as:
Interpretation Advice/1 - Verbal Comments or Actions That Are Advice
Examples of when comments or actions are considered advice and are not allowed include:
Interpretation Advice/2 - Verbal Comments or Actions That Are Not Advice
Examples of comments or actions that are not advice include:
Any verbal comment or action (such as showing what club was just used to make a stroke) that is intended to influence a player in:
But advice does not include public information, such as:
Interpretation Advice/1 - Verbal Comments or Actions That Are Advice
Examples of when comments or actions are considered advice and are not allowed include:
Interpretation Advice/2 - Verbal Comments or Actions That Are Not Advice
Examples of comments or actions that are not advice include:
Any verbal comment or action (such as showing what club was just used to make a stroke) that is intended to influence a player in:
But advice does not include public information, such as:
Interpretation Advice/1 - Verbal Comments or Actions That Are Advice
Examples of when comments or actions are considered advice and are not allowed include:
Interpretation Advice/2 - Verbal Comments or Actions That Are Not Advice
Examples of comments or actions that are not advice include:
Any verbal comment or action (such as showing what club was just used to make a stroke) that is intended to influence a player in:
But advice does not include public information, such as:
Interpretation Advice/1 - Verbal Comments or Actions That Are Advice
Examples of when comments or actions are considered advice and are not allowed include:
Interpretation Advice/2 - Verbal Comments or Actions That Are Not Advice
Examples of comments or actions that are not advice include:
The line where the player intends his or her ball to go after a stroke, including the area on that line that is a reasonable distance up above the ground and on either side of that line.
The line of play is not necessarily a straight line between two points (for example, it may be a curved line based on where the player intends the ball to go).
Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:
A caddie may also help the player in other ways allowed by the Rules (see Rule 10.3b).
The finishing point on the putting green for the hole being played:
The word “hole” (when not used as a Definition in italics) is used throughout the Rules to mean the part of the course associated with a particular teeing area, putting green and hole. Play of a hole begins from the teeing area and ends when the ball is holed on the putting green (or when the Rules otherwise say the hole is completed).
The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
When the Rules refer to "playing a ball," it means the same as making a stroke.
The player's score for a hole or a round is described as a number of "strokes" or "strokes taken," which means both all strokes made and any penalty strokes (see Rule 3.1c).
Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made
If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:
The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:
To alter one or more of the conditions affecting the stroke or other physical conditions affecting play so that a player gains a potential advantage for a stroke.
The lie of the player’s ball at rest, the area of intended stance, the area of intended swing, the line of play and the relief area where the player will drop or place a ball.
To alter one or more of the conditions affecting the stroke or other physical conditions affecting play so that a player gains a potential advantage for a stroke.
Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:
A caddie may also help the player in other ways allowed by the Rules (see Rule 10.3b).
Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:
A caddie may also help the player in other ways allowed by the Rules (see Rule 10.3b).
Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:
A caddie may also help the player in other ways allowed by the Rules (see Rule 10.3b).
Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:
A caddie may also help the player in other ways allowed by the Rules (see Rule 10.3b).
Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:
A caddie may also help the player in other ways allowed by the Rules (see Rule 10.3b).
Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:
A caddie may also help the player in other ways allowed by the Rules (see Rule 10.3b).
Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:
A caddie may also help the player in other ways allowed by the Rules (see Rule 10.3b).
A form of play where a player or side competes against all other players or sides in the competition.
In the regular form of stroke play (see Rule 3.3):
Other forms of stroke play with different scoring methods are Stableford, Maximum Score and Par/Bogey (see Rule 21).
All forms of stroke play can be played either in individual competitions (each player competing on his or her own) or in competitions involving sides of partners (Foursomes or Four-Ball).
Someone who helps a player during a round, including in these ways:
A caddie may also help the player in other ways allowed by the Rules (see Rule 10.3b).