The R&A - Working for Golf

R&A Coronation Foursomes

The R&A has cancelled the 2020 Coronation Foursomes due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The leading foursomes event in Great Britain and Ireland for women and girls will next be played in 2021.

Established in 1953, the unique team event costs only £2 per person is open to all members of affiliated clubs who hold a current CONGU handicap of 36 or under. Mothers and daughters, friends and family, whatever your age and experience, you and your partner can join in the fun by teeing up!

How to enter:

Step 1: Pick your partner and encourage your club to hold a qualifying round.

Step 2: Progress to the Area Finals if your score is in the top 100 based on nett differential.

Step 3: Book your spot among 16 pairs at the Grand Final in St Andrews by winning your Area Final.

Championship Videos

Championship Overview

2019 R&A Coronation Foursomes Champions

Collette Burgess and Hana Dabrowski

2016 Coronation Foursomes

Cornwall pair Collette Burgess and Hana Dabrowski sealed victory in the R&A Coronation Foursomes Grand Final in St Andrews, tasting success in the 66th anniversary of one of the largest domestic golf participation events.

2020 Championship

2018 Junior Open Venue Eden Course

2020 Championship



The Coronation Foursomes is the leading foursomes event for club golfers in Great Britain & Ireland. The competition is open to all members of affiliated golf clubs who hold a CONGU handicap of 36 or less.

Established in 1953, the event has become increasingly popular in clubs where the winners may qualify for one of sixteen Area Finals.


The 2020 Grand Final will be played on 21 September 2020 at the Eden Course, St Andrews.  The finalists will enjoy 2 nights at the prestigious five-star Old Course Hotel Golf Resort & Spa and the chance to participate in the Pro-Am of the 2021 Women's British Open Championship.

Qualifying rounds can be held from 1 December 2019 - 21 June 2020.

Full results from the 2019 Area Final venues are available here.

Full list of the 2020 Area Final venues can be found here.



2020 Championship



The first stage of the tournament is a Club Qualifying Round played over 18 holes of foursomes Stableford. Any clubs affiliated to a Home Nation can run a qualifying round.

The best 100 scores based on nett differential will qualify for the Area Final, which is held at 16 venues around Great Britain and Ireland and will consist of 18 holes of foursomes Stableford.

Sixteen teams will qualify for the Grand Final, which will consist of 18 holes of foursomes Stableford.



2020 Championship



The Coronation Foursomes were first played as an 18-hole medal foursome, in 1953 to commemorate the Queen's Coronation. The finals were played at Royal Mid-Surrey Golf Club, and were limited to 150 pairs which included 25 pairs from overseas.

The format continued as medal and by 1969 three finals were held, one each in Scotland, North England and Southern England. Ten final places were still kept for Commonwealth players. An extra final was added in Scotland in 1977.

A Midlands final was added in 1980, a 2nd final in the South was added in 1985, then during the early 90's a Welsh final, another Midlands and Northern final.

For more details visit our History page.

Championship News