The R&A - Working for Golf

The Womens Amateur Championship

The Women's Amateur Championship was founded in 1893 by the Ladies Golf Union and was first played at Royal Lytham and St Annes with Lady Margaret Scott crowned the champion.

Today, the championship attracts a top international field with an impressive list of former winners including McCormack Medal winner Leona Maguire, and Major champions Georgia Hall and Anna Nordqvist.

The winner gains entry to the AIG Women’s Open, US Women’s Open, The Evian Championship and Augusta National Women's Amateur Championship as well as lifting the historic trophy.

Against the Grain | Episode One: Old Course

Championship Overview

2020 Women's Amateur Champion

Aline Krauter (GER)

Leonie Harm won The 115th Ladies’ British Open Amateur Championship at Hillside Golf Club

Germany’s Aline Krauter held her nerve to claim the biggest title of her career after winning the 117th Women’s Amateur Championship at West Lancashire.

The 20-year-old fought back from three down after the opening four holes to defeat Englishwoman Annabell Fuller, 18, by one-hole in a dramatic 18-hole Final.



Kilmarnock Barassie SML




West Lancashire Golf Club
25-29 August 2020

The 117th Women's Amateur Championship will take place at West Lancashire Golf Club, which is located on the north-west coast of England.

In order to receive Government and Local Authority approval to proceed with the Championship, it is required to be played behind closed doors with no spectators and only essential/authorised personnel on-site.  To view the venue entrance policy please click here.

Contact details:

West Lancashire
Hall Rd W
L23 8SZ
Tel: +44 (0) 151 924 1076



stephanie lau




The first stage of the 2020 Championship involves 120 players each of whom plays two rounds of 18 holes. The 64 lowest scores over the 36 holes will compete in the match play stage of the Championship. Each match will consist of one round of 18 holes, including the Final.

The ‘Pam Barton Memorial Salver’ is awarded to the winner of the Championship, while the runner-up receives The Diana Fishwick Cup. An international team award is presented after the stroke play qualifying rounds.

The champion also receives full exemptions to the AIG Women’s Open, US Women’s Open, The Evian Championship and Augusta National Women's Amateur Championship in the current year provided she is still an amateur at the time of the championship.






History of The Women's Amateur Championship

Founded in 1893 by the Ladies’ Golf Union, the Women's Amateur was first played at Royal Lytham & St Annes Golf Club in Lancashire.

The first three championships were won by England’s Lady Margaret Scott, who defeated the founder and secretary of the Ladies’ Golf Union Issette Pearson in the final of her first two victories.

Before the rise of the women’s professional game, the Women's Amateur was one of the most important golf events for female competitors. Today, along with the US Women’s Amateur Golf Championship, it is considered the highest honour in women’s amateur golf.

Championship News