The R&A - Working for Golf

The Womens Home Internationals

The Womens Home Internationals was first played in 1902.

The championship is an annual event played over three days featuring teams from England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales.

Match Overview

2018 Womens Home International Champions


2017 Ladies Home International Matches Winner Ireland

Scotland were crowned champions at the Womens Home Internationals after defeating Ireland on home turf in the deciding match at Ballybunion.

2018 MATCH

Ballybunion Old Course

2018 MATCH



8-10 August 2018

The Womens Home Internationals will be played at Ballybunion from 8-10 August 2018. Ballybunion Golf Club was founded in 1893. It is considered one of the finest links courses in the world and after being remodelled by five-time Champion Golfer of the Year Tom Watson in 1995, it hosted The Irish Open in 2000 and the Arnold Palmer Cup in 2004.

It hosted Jacques Leglise Trophy for the first time in its history in 2017 when the Continent of Europe defeated Great Britain and Ireland 15½-9½. During his second term, US President Bill Clinton played the course in September 1998. A statue of him with a golf club in the town of Ballybunion commemorates the visit.

Contact details:

Ballybunion Golf Club Golf Club
Sandhill Road
Co. Kerry
Tel: +353 (0) 68 27146



2018 MATCH



Teams from England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales compete against each other in individual matches.

A match consists of three foursomes and six singles, each over the same 18 holes, with the foursomes being played first.

The scores are calculated by team results with each team scoring one point for a team win and half a point for a halved match.

If two or more countries score an equal number of team points and have each won the same number of individual games, the tie will be resolved by aggregating the number of holes played in the individual games won and the team with the fewest number of holes played is declared the winner.

The Home Internationals Trophy was presented to the Ladies’ Golf Union by Mr T.H. Miller and is awarded to the winning team. The Hugh C. Kelly Cup is awarded to the captain of the winning team.



2018 MATCH



The first Home International Match was played between England and Ireland in 1895 at Royal Portrush in Northern Ireland.

The team from England featured founder and secretary of the Ladies’ Golf Union Issette Pearson.

The Home Internationals were played at Royal Troon in 1904, which marked Scotland’s first appearance and victory in the match.

The following year saw the introduction of the coveted International Shield presented to the winning team.

In 1907 all the countries from Great Britain were represented when Wales competed in the Home Internationals.

Match News