The R&A - Working for Golf

The Womens Amateur Championship

The Womens Amateur Championship was founded in 1893 by the Ladies Golf Union and was first played at Royal Lytham and St Annes with Lady Margaret Scott crowned the champion.

Today, the championship attracts a top international field with an impressive list of former winners including McCormack Medal winner Leona Maguire, and Major champions Georgia Hall and Anna Nordqvist.

The winner gains entry to the AIG Women’s British Open, US Women’s Open, The Evian Championship and Augusta National Women's Amateur Championship as well as lifting the historic trophy.

Championship Overview

2018 Womens Amateur Champion

Leonie Harm (GER)

Leonie Harm won The 115th Ladies’ British Open Amateur Championship at Hillside Golf Club

Leonie Harm won the 115th Womens Amateur Championship at Hillside Golf Club, defeating USA's Stephanie Lau 3&2 to seal the biggest win of her career. Harm became the first German to win the championship in it's 155-year history.






Royal County Down
11-15 June 2019

The 116th Womens Amateur Championship will take place at  Royal County Down Golf Club, which is located on the east coast of Northern Ireland in the town of Newcastle. 

The Royal County Down Golf Club was founded in 1889 and the course has witnessed many prestigious championships.

From 1893, when the second Irish Open Amateur Championship was held, until the present time, Royal County Down has been synonymous with the best in amateur golf. 

It has been the venue for the Walker Cup (2007), the Curtis Cup (1968), The Amateur Championship (twice), Home Internationals (three times) and, on no fewer than eight occasions, The Womens Amateur Championship.

Contact details:

Royal County Down Golf Club
36 Golf Links Road
Co. Down
BT33 0AN
Tel: +44 (028) 43 723314 



stephanie lau




The first stage of the Championship involves 144 players each of whom plays two rounds of 18 holes. The 64 lowest scores over the 36 holes will compete in the match play stage of the Championship. Each match will consist of one round of 18 holes, including the Final.

The ‘Pam Barton Memorial Salver’ is awarded to the winner of the Championship, while the runner-up receives The Diana Fishwick Cup. An international team award is presented after the stroke play qualifying rounds.

The champion also receives full exemptions to the AIG Women’s British Open, US Women’s Open, The Evian Championship and Augusta National Women's Amateur Championship in the current year provided she is still an amateur at the time of the championship.






History of The Womens Amateur Championship

Founded in 1893 by the Ladies’ Golf Union, the Womens Amateur was first played at Royal Lytham & St Annes Golf Club in Lancashire.

The first three championships were won by England’s Lady Margaret Scott, who defeated the founder and secretary of the Ladies’ Golf Union Issette Pearson in the final of her first two victories.

Before the rise of the women’s professional game, the Womens Amateur was one of the most important golf events for female competitors. Today, along with the US Women’s Amateur Golf Championship, it is considered the highest honour in women’s amateur golf.

Championship Videos

Championship News

Image Gallery

Selection of images from the Womens Amateur Championship, find all the photos HERE.