Playing from Where Ball Came to Rest When Stroke Must Be Replayed Is Not Playing from Wrong Place
When a player is required to replay a stroke under a Rule and does so (such as under Rule 11.2c(2) – Place from Where Deliberately Deflected or Stopped Ball Must Be Played When Stroke Made from Putting Green), the original stroke is disregarded from the player’s score as if it never took place. But if the player does not replace the ball and replay the stroke, and instead plays from where the ball came to rest, the stroke counts and they get the general penalty, but the player has not played from a wrong place.For example, a player makes a stroke from the putting green that accidentally hits a hole-liner that came out of the hole when the flagstick was removed (Rule 11.1b(2)).
If the player replays the stroke by playing the original ball or another ball from the spot where that stroke was made as required by Rule 11.1b(2), the stroke made when the ball hit the hole-liner does not count.
But if the player does not replay the stroke and instead plays the ball from where it came to rest, the stroke that resulted in the ball hitting the hole liner counts and the player gets the general penalty.
What to Do When Ball Moves After Being Accidentally Deflected or Stopped
If a ball comes to rest against a person or an outside influence after being accidentally deflected or stopped and the person or outside influencemoves or is moved, Rule 9 applies, and the player must follow the Rule appropriately. However, there is no penalty under Rule 9 if the ball moves after coming to rest against a person or equipment (see Exception 5 to Rule 9.4b and Exception 3 to Rule 9.5b).Examples of where there is no penalty include when:
The player's ball comes to rest against the opponent's foot after being accidentally stopped by them and the ball moves as a result of the opponent moving. The player must replace the ball as required by Rule 9.5a but neither the player nor the opponent gets a penalty.
The player's ball in motion is accidentally stopped by their club after rolling back down a hill and the ball moves as a result of removing the club. The player must replace the ball as required by Rule 9.4a but gets no penalty.
For other situations when a ball is accidentally deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as an animal), and that outside influence moves and causes the ball to move, see Rule 9.6 for what to do.
What to Do When Ball Played from Anywhere Except Putting Green Is Deflected or Picked Up by an Animal
If a ball played from anywhere except the putting green is in motion and is stopped or deflected by an animal, there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies (see Rule 11.1).But if an animal picks up a ball in motion, the ball has come to rest on the animal and free relief must be taken using the point where the animal picked up the ball as the reference point (see Rule 11.1b(1)).For example, a ball played from the fairway is picked up by a dog while it is still in motion. The ball has come to rest on the animal at the point where the dog picked up the ball.
If the ball was picked up on the fairway, a ball must be dropped within one club-length of and no nearer the hole than the point where the ball was picked up by the dog in the general area.
If the ball was picked up on the putting green, a ball must be placed on the putting green on the estimated spot where the ball was picked up. (New)
Equipment Left in Position After Player Realizes It Could Be Helpful If the Ball Were to Hit It
Rule 11.2 applies to a situation where a player did not initially position the equipment, other object or person for the purpose of deflecting the ball in motion, but they then realize it may deflect or stop the ball after positioning it and deliberately leave it there.An example where the player gets a penalty is when:
After raking a bunker, a player places the rake between the putting green and the bunker, without any thought of it influencing a ball. The player, who now has a downhill putt towards the bunker, realizes the rake might stop their ball and plays without first moving the rake. The player putts and the ball is stopped by that rake.
An example where the player does not get a penalty is when:
A rake has been left by a preceding group between the putting green and a bunker. A player, who has a downhill putt towards the bunker, sees the rake and leaves it there because it might stop the ball if their putt is too strong. The player putts and the ball is stopped by that rake.
Outcome of Deliberate Actions to Affect Ball in Motion Is Irrelevant
Rule 11.3 applies when a player or caddie takes a deliberate action for the purpose of affecting a ball in motion, and the player is in breach of this Rule even if the deliberate action does not affect where the ball comes to rest.Examples where the player gets the general penalty under Rule 11.3, and in stroke play must play the ball where it comes to rest, include when:
The player's ball lies in the general area at the bottom of a slope. The player makes a stroke and, while the ball is rolling back down the slope, the player presses down a raised piece of turf for the purpose of preventing the ball from coming to rest in a bad lie.
The player believes a rake lying on the ground may stop or deflect another player's ball in motion, so the player lifts the rake.
Examples where there is no penalty, and in stroke play the ball must be played where it comes to rest, include when:
A player's ball lies in the general area at the bottom of a slope. The player makes a stroke and the ball begins to roll back down the slope. Unaware that the ball was returning to the area from where it had been played, the player presses down a raised piece of turf without any intent to affect where the ball might come to rest. There is no penalty even if the ball comes to rest in the pressed down area.
After making a stroke and while the ball is in motion, a player lifts a nearby rake to give it to another player for an upcoming bunker shot. The player's ball rolls through the area that the rake was lifted from.