1
General Points
Revision
2
Areas of the Course
3
Playing The Ball
4
Putting Greens
Revision
5
Ball moved or deflected
6
Lifting and Dropping
7
Ball Helping or Interfering with Play
Revision
8
Free Relief
9
Relief With Penalty
Revision
10
Exam Instructions
Rules Academy Final Exam
Rules Academy Final Exam
Your exam has now started.
1/76
A ball may always be lifted under the Rules by:
A
The player or caddie.
B
The player only.
C
The player or anyone authorised by the player.
2/76
A ball is on the putting green when any part of it:
A
Touches the putting green or lies on or in anything that a part of it is inside the edge of the putting green, even if the ball is entirely outside the edge of the putting green.
B
Touches the putting green or lies on or in anything and is inside the edge of the putting green.
C
Touches the putting green or overhangs inside the edge of the putting green without touching the surface of the putting green.
3/76
When taking relief from a sprinkler head in the general area, which of the following is true:
A
The ball must be dropped in and be played from any area of the course apart from a penalty area.
B
The ball must be dropped in and be played from the general area only.
C
The ball must be dropped in and be played from any area of the course.
4/76
Shona's ball is lying in the general area and she moves a leaf lying very close to her ball, which causes her ball to move. She replaces the ball on the original spot before playing her shot. In stroke play, how many penalty strokes does she get?
A
Two strokes.
B
One stroke.
C
No penalty.
5/76
Which of the following statements is true:
A
There are five areas of the course – the general area, teeing area, all penalty areas, all bunkers and the putting green.
B
There are six areas of the course – the general area, teeing area, all penalty areas, all bunkers, abnormal course conditions and the putting green.
C
There are four areas of the course – teeing area, all penalty areas, all bunkers and the putting green.
6/76
In match play, if you play your ball from the wrong tee markers before your opponent plays, which of the following is true:
A
You get the general penalty and lose the hole.
B
There is no penalty and your opponent can choose to cancel your stroke or allow you to play the ball as it lies.
C
There is no penalty and your stroke is cancelled and must be replayed.
7/76
Grant determines that his ball is unplayable in the bunker. He decides to take back-on-the-line relief outside the bunker and drops a ball outside the bunker. How many penalty strokes does he get in stroke play?
A
Two strokes.
B
One stroke.
C
No penalty.
8/76
How many relief options are available for an unplayable ball in the general area?
A
Two.
B
Three.
C
One.
9/76
Grant plays his tee shot and it comes to rest in a greenside bunker. As he is getting into the bunker, he falls and touches the sand with his hand. How many penalty strokes does he get in stroke play?
A
No penalty.
B
One Stroke.
C
Two strokes.
10/76
In which of the following situations are you not entitled to free relief from a sprinkler head?
A
When your ball is not touching the sprinkler head but your club would touch the sprinkler head when you take your backswing.
B
When the sprinkler head interferes with your stance.
C
When your ball lies off the putting green and a sprinkler head on the putting green is on your line of play.