1
General Points
Revision
2
Areas of the Course
3
Playing The Ball
4
Putting Greens
Revision
5
Ball moved or deflected
6
Lifting and Dropping
7
Ball Helping or Interfering with Play
Revision
8
Free Relief
9
Relief With Penalty
Revision
10
Exam Instructions
Rules Academy Final Exam
Rules Academy Final Exam
Your exam has now started.
1/76
An opponent is:
A
The person you compete against in a match.
B
The person you play with in a competition.
C
Any other player who is playing in the same competition as you.
2/76
The general area includes:
A
All wrong greens.
B
All bunkers.
C
All penalty areas.
3/76
When taking relief, if you drop the ball in the right way but it rolls outside the relief area, what must you do?
A
Drop a ball in the right way a second time.
B
Play the ball from where it comes to rest outside the relief area.
C
Place a ball on the spot where the ball first touched the ground inside the relief area.
4/76
In match play, if you play your ball from the wrong tee markers before your opponent plays, which of the following is true:
A
There is no penalty and your stroke is cancelled and must be replayed.
B
There is no penalty and your opponent can choose to cancel your stroke or allow you to play the ball as it lies.
C
You get the general penalty and lose the hole.
5/76
Grant's ball lies in ground under repair and he decides to take free relief. He drops the ball in the correct relief area with his arm at shoulder height and the ball rolls out of the relief area. He corrects this and re-drops the ball at knee height and the ball comes to rest in the relief area. Grant plays his ball onto the green. How many penalty strokes does he get in stroke play?
A
One stroke.
B
No penalty.
C
Two strokes.
6/76
When taking relief when your ball is lying on a towel in the general area, which of the following statements is true:
A
You must drop your ball anywhere within one club-length of the spot immediately underneath where the ball lay on the towel, no nearer the hole.
B
You must place your ball on the spot immediately underneath where the ball lay on the towel.
C
You must place your ball anywhere within one club-length of the spot immediately underneath where the ball lay on the towel, no nearer the hole.
7/76
In stroke play, Grant plays his ball from outside the teeing area by mistake. He realises his error so corrects it by playing a ball from inside the teeing area. How many penalty strokes does he get?
A
Two strokes.
B
One stroke.
C
No penalty.
8/76
In which of the following situations is back-on-the-line relief not available under the unplayable ball Rule?
A
For an unplayable ball in a red penalty area.
B
For an unplayable ball in the general area.
C
For an unplayable ball in a bunker.
9/76
Which of the following is the reference point when taking lateral relief from a red penalty area:
A
The estimated point where the ball last crossed the edge of the penalty area.
B
Any point on the edge of the penalty area of the player's choosing that is no nearer the hole than where the ball lies.
C
The nearest edge of the penalty area to where the ball lies, no nearer the hole.
10/76
Grant determines that his ball is unplayable in the bunker. He decides to take back-on-the-line relief outside the bunker and drops a ball outside the bunker. How many penalty strokes does he get in stroke play?
A
No penalty.
B
Two strokes.
C
One stroke.