1
General Points
Revision
2
Areas of the Course
3
Playing The Ball
4
Putting Greens
Revision
5
Ball moved or deflected
6
Lifting and Dropping
7
Ball Helping or Interfering with Play
Revision
8
Free Relief
9
Relief With Penalty
Revision
10
Exam Instructions
Rules Academy Final Exam
Rules Academy Final Exam
Your exam has now started.
1/76
In stroke play, Grant plays his ball from outside the teeing area by mistake. He realises his error so corrects it by playing a ball from inside the teeing area. How many penalty strokes does he get?
A
Two strokes.
B
One stroke.
C
No penalty.
2/76
Shona plays her tee shot and her ball comes to rest in a penalty area. She decides to play the ball from the penalty area but in doing so, touches the water with her club on her backswing. How many penalty strokes does she get in stroke play?
A
No penalty.
B
Two strokes.
C
One stroke.
3/76
On the putting green, Grant repairs a ball mark on his line of play and holes his putt. How many penalty strokes does he get in stroke play?
A
Two strokes.
B
One stroke.
C
No penalty.
4/76
When replacing a ball that was accidentally moved during search in thick grass, which of the following is true:
A
You must estimate the original spot and replace the ball there, including how the ball was lying under the grass.
B
You must estimate the original spot and replace it anywhere within one club-length of that spot.
C
You must estimate the original spot and replace the ball there, including on top of any grass growing over the spot.
5/76
Before playing a ball in a bunker, touching sand is allowed when:
A
Striking the sand in frustration.
B
Making a practice swing.
C
Deliberately testing the condition of the sand with a club.
6/76
In which of the following situations are you not entitled to free relief from a sprinkler head?
A
When the sprinkler head interferes with your stance.
B
When your ball is not touching the sprinkler head but your club would touch the sprinkler head when you take your backswing.
C
When your ball lies off the putting green and a sprinkler head on the putting green is on your line of play.
7/76
When taking relief for an embedded ball, where is the reference point from which the relief area is measured:
A
The spot where the ball was embedded.
B
The spot right beside where the ball was embedded.
C
The spot right behind where the ball was embedded.
8/76
In match play, if you play your ball from the wrong tee markers before your opponent plays, which of the following is true:
A
You get the general penalty and lose the hole.
B
There is no penalty and your stroke is cancelled and must be replayed.
C
There is no penalty and your opponent can choose to cancel your stroke or allow you to play the ball as it lies.
9/76
Temporary water is:
A
An abnormal course condition.
B
A penalty area.
C
An immovable obstruction.
10/76
Shona's ball is lying in the general area and she moves a leaf lying very close to her ball, which causes her ball to move. She replaces the ball on the original spot before playing her shot. In stroke play, how many penalty strokes does she get?
A
Two strokes.
B
One stroke.
C
No penalty.