The Amateur

Venues announced for R&A Amateur Championships and international matches in 2025

The R&A
06 Jun 24
3 mins

Renowned venues in Great Britain and Ireland and beyond will host The R&A’s amateur championships and international matches in 2025.

The 130th Amateur Championship will be played at famed south-east English venues Royal St George’s – host to The Open on 15 occasions – and Royal Cinque Ports from 16–21 June, with a pre-qualifier at the latter on 13 June.  Harry Ellis was victorious when The Amateur Championship was last held at Royal St George’s in 2017, while Royal Cinque Ports – which staged The Open in 1909 and 1920 – also hosted The Amateur most recently in 2013 when Garrick Porteous triumphed.

Nairn to host leading women

The world’s leading women players will head for the Highlands in Scotland as Nairn – the venue for The Amateur in 2021 – welcomes The 122nd Women’s Amateur Championship from 9–14 June. Broadcaster Maureen Madill took the title when Nairn last hosted the Championship in 1979. The Walker Cup, the biennial encounter between leading male amateurs from GB&I and the USA, takes place at Cypress Point in California from 6–7 September 2025 with Dean Robertson captaining the visitors. Johnnie Cole-Hamilton, Executive Director – Championships at The R&A, said, “It is important to reinforce The R&A’s amateur championships and international matches as pinnacle events in global elite amateur golf. “We want to attract the best players from around the globe to compete and, as such, it is fitting to have our championships and international matches hosted at some of the world's finest venues in 2025.”

Team matches

The R&A Girls’ and Boys’ Amateur championships will be held at Conwy and County Louth respectively in August, with the R&A Girls’ U16 Amateur Championship taking place at Gog Magog in April. The R&A Women’s and Men’s Senior Amateur championships will be played concurrently at Walton Heath in July.  A number of other international matches contested between GB&I and the Continent of Europe will also take place. The St Andrews Trophy will be staged at Real Club de la Puerta de Hierro in Spain in July, while Royal Hague Golf & Country Club in the Netherlands will welcome the Vagliano and Junior Vagliano trophies for women and girls a month earlier. The boys’ equivalent match for the Jacques Léglise Trophy will be played in August at the Royal Golf Club of Belgium.  The Walker Cup and St Andrews Trophy being played in the same year is part of a realignment, which will see the Walker Cup move to even years from 2026 and the St Andrews Trophy move to odd years from 2025. Please visit to view the full 2025 event calendar here.