1
General Points
Revision
2
Areas of the Course
3
Playing The Ball
4
Putting Greens
Revision
5
Ball moved or deflected
6
Lifting and Dropping
7
Ball Helping or Interfering with Play
Revision
8
Free Relief
9
Relief With Penalty
Revision
10
Exam Instructions
Rules Academy Final Exam
Rules Academy Final Exam
Your exam has now started.
1/76
Grant takes several practice swings close to his ball which is lying in the rough and accidentally causes it to move. He replaces the ball. How many penalty strokes does he get, in stroke play?
A
One stroke.
B
No penalty.
C
Two strokes.
2/76
Which of the following statements is true:
A
A club-length is the length of the longest club of the 14 clubs you have during the round, other than a putter.
B
A club-length is the length of the longest club of the 14 clubs you have during the round, including your putter.
C
A club-length is the length of the club you select out of the 14 clubs you have during the round.
3/76
When replacing a ball that was accidentally moved during search in thick grass, which of the following is true:
A
You must estimate the original spot and replace the ball there, including on top of any grass growing over the spot.
B
You must estimate the original spot and replace it anywhere within one club-length of that spot.
C
You must estimate the original spot and replace the ball there, including how the ball was lying under the grass.
4/76
Which of the following relief options is not available for a penalty of one stroke for a yellow penalty area?
A
Stoke-and-distance relief.
B
Back-on-the-line relief.
C
Lateral relief.
5/76
In stroke play, Grant plays his ball from outside the teeing area by mistake. He realises his error so corrects it by playing a ball from inside the teeing area. How many penalty strokes does he get?
A
No penalty.
B
One stroke.
C
Two strokes.
6/76
Conditions affecting the stroke are:
A
The lie of your ball at rest, the area of your intended stance and intended swing.
B
The lie of your ball at rest, the area of your intended stance and intended swing, your line of play and the relief area where you will drop or place a ball.
C
The lie of your ball at rest and the area of your intended stance.
7/76
Which of the following is not a movable obstruction?
A
A scorecard.
B
A plastic bottle.
C
A banana skin.
8/76
Shona's ball came to rest on a sprinkler head on the fairway. She establishes her nearest point of complete relief and drops the ball but it rolls back onto the sprinkler head. Shona lifts the ball again and this time when she drops it, the ball stays in the relief area where she has no interference from the sprinkler head. How many penalty strokes does she get in stroke play?
A
No penalty.
B
Two strokes.
C
One stroke.
9/76
Shona plays her tee shot and her ball comes to rest in a penalty area. She decides to play the ball from the penalty area but in doing so, touches the water with her club on her backswing. How many penalty strokes does she get in stroke play?
A
No penalty.
B
One stroke.
C
Two strokes.
10/76
Before playing a ball in a bunker, touching sand is allowed when:
A
Deliberately testing the condition of the sand with a club.
B
Making a practice swing.
C
Striking the sand in frustration.