25 - 26 Jul 24
Royal Porthcawl, Wales

Like the Walker Cup, the St Andrews Trophy is a biennial international match which takes place in non-Walker Cup years. 

It is contested by talented amateur golfers from Great Britain and Ireland and the Continent of Europe, using a format which mirrors that of its more well-known counterpart. It was first played in 1956 over the West Course at Wentworth. GB&I Team Selection Criteria
  • The current Amateur Champion if eligible.
  • The top-five GB&I players in the World Amateur Golf Ranking® (WAGR ®) on Wednesday 3 July.  Should The Amateur Champion occupy one of the five guaranteed WAGR positions the fifth automatic position will not transfer to the sixth ranked GB&I player in WAGR.
  • Remaining places selected by Team Captain.
  • Should one of the top-five WAGR players be unavailable the place will not transfer to the sixth ranked GB&I player in WAGR.  The place will become an additional Captain’s pick.
  • The team will be announced week commencing Monday 8 July.

Royal Porthcawl

Royal Porthcawl offers a wonderful links test. The Welsh course has a magnificent setting sloping down to the seashore. The course allows the golfer to see the sea from every hole and to enjoy memorable views south to Somerset and Exmoor, and northwest across Swansea Bay to the Gower Peninsula. The club has hosted a series of leading amateur and professional championships in its illustrious history, including The Amateur Championship, Curtis Cup and Walker Cup. In 2025, the AIG Women's Open will be played at Royal Porthcawl for the first time.


European Golf Association

The European Golf Association was founded during a meeting held in Luxembourg on the 20th November 1937. The Association concerns itself solely with matters of an international character. Membership is restricted to European National Amateur Golf Associations, Federations or Unions.